Who we are

The Commission constitutes a Chairperson - Alan Cameron AO - and a number of part time Commissioners. A small team of highly-skilled staff supports the work of the Commission.

Picture of Alan Cameron ​ ​
​​​​Alan Cameron AO​

Alan Cameron was appointed Chairperson of the NSW Law Reform Commission on 26 November 2015. Alan​​ has
o​​ccupied a range of senior roles in both the private and public sectors including Chairman of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission from 1993 to 2000, Commonwealth and Defence Force Ombudsman, Principal Solicitor of the NSW Aboriginal Legal Service in the mid-1970s and  first national managing partner of Blake Dawson Waldron (now​ known as Ashurst Australia) from 1989 to 1991. ​He serves part time at the Commission, and continues as a company director of one listed company and several unlisted compa​nies.​​

Picture of Paul Brereton
Deputy Chair
Hon Justice Paul Brereton AM, RFD​​​

Justice Brereton was appointed as a part-time Com​​missioner of the NSW Law Reform Commission on ​​​​1 June 2016 and took up the position of Deputy Chairperson on 1 July 2016. Justice Brereton was appointed as a ​Supreme Court judge in 2005 and worked as a barrister from 1987 to 2005. Justice Brereton is currently a member of the Defence Force Discipline Appeal Tribunal and has held several positions within the Army Reserve since 1994. Justice Brereton was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (Military Division) in 2010 and was awarded the Reserve Force Decoration in 1995.​​​​

Acting Justice Carolyn Simpson

Justice Simpson was appointed as a part-time Commissioner of the NSW Law Reform Commission in May 2018. Justice Simpson served on the NSW Court of Appeal, 2015-2018, having been a Supreme Court judge since 1994. In 1999 she was one of the three judges who formed the first all-female bench to sit in an Australian court. Before this, she was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1989 and was admitted as a barrister in 1976.