Department of Justice is now the Department of Communities and Justice.  Find out more >


Below are some of the submissions we received in response to our Consultation Paper and our Draft Proposals.

We have not published every submission we received. Reasons for this include:

  • the author wishes us to keep the submission confidential
  • the submission relates to a case that is or might come before the courts
  • the submission contains particularly sensitive, offensive or potentially defamatory material.

We note that while privilege attaches to our reports, no privilege attaches to individual submissions made to us. We have taken this into account when deciding what to publish.

We will consider all submissions in full as part of our review process, even if we don't publish them or redact parts of them.

Content warning: Some of these submissions contain sensitive material relating to sexual assault and/or violence that may confront or disturb readers.

If you need help, some options for advice and support are listed below:

  • NSW Victims Services
    • Call the Victims Access Line on 1800 633 063 or the Aboriginal Contact Line on 1800 019 123
    • The Victims Access Line is the single entry point for victims of crime in NSW to access information, referrals, support and counselling.

  • NSW Rape Crisis Centre 
    • Call 1800 424 017 or visit
    • NSW Rape Crisis is a 24/7 telephone and online counselling service for anyone affected by sexual assault in NSW.
  • Sexual Assault Counselling Australia 

Submissions on the Draft Proposals

CO44 Australian Lawyers Alliance

CO47 NSW Bar Association

CO53 Andrew Dyer

CO55 Children's Court of NSW

CO60 Domestic Violence NSW


CO62 Positive Life NSW

CO63 Dr Rachael Burgin and Professor Jonathan Crowe

CO65 Rape and Domestic Violence Services Australia

CO66 Associate Professor Julia Quilter and Professor Luke McNamara


CO68 Wirringa Baiya Aboriginal Women's Legal Centre

CO69 UNSW School of Social Sciences

CO70 Women's Legal Service NSW

CO71 Care Leavers Australia Network

CO72 Australian Queer Students' Network

CO73 Community Legal Centres NSW

CO74 Women's Safety NSW

CO76 The Law Society of New South Wales

CO77 Lismore Women's Health and Resource Centre

CO80 National Association of People with HIV Australia

CO81 Wilma Women's Health Centre

CO82 Inner City Legal Centre

CO83 Central Coast Community Women's Health Centre

CO84 The Public Defenders

CO85 Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions NSW

CO86 NSW Young Lawyers Criminal Law Committee

CO87 Legal Aid NSW

CO88 Wagga Women's Health Centre Inc

Submissions on the Consultation Paper

CO02 Andrew Dyer

CO03 NSW Department of Family and Community Services

CO04 Care Leavers Australia Network

CO05 Australian Lawyers Alliance

CO06 Rachael Burgin

CO07 Dr Julia Quilter

CO08 Feminist Legal Clinic 

CO09 Dr Arlie Loughnan, Dr Carolyn McKay, Dr Tanya Mitchell and Professor Rita Shackel 

CO10 Positive Life NSW

CO11 Victims of Crime Assistance League

CO12 AIDS Council of NSW (ACON)

CO13 Professor Luke McNamara, Professor Julie Stubbs, Helen Gibbon, Melanie Schwartz and Professor Alex Steel

CO14 Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions

CO15 Sex Workers Outreach Project 

CO17 Professor Annie Cossins

CO18 Law Society of NSW

CO19 Children's Court of NSW

CO20 Australia's National Organisation for Women's Safety

CO21 NSW Young Lawyers Criminal Law Committee

CO23 Wirringa Baiya Aboriginal Women's Legal Centre

CO24 Elizabeth Evatt Community Legal Centre

CO25 Community Legal Centres NSW

CO26 Women's Electoral Lobby

CO27 Women's Legal Service NSW

CO28 Rape and Domestic Violence Services Australia

CO29 Domestic Violence NSW

CO30 Women's Domestic Violence Court Advocacy Services NSW

CO31 Corrective Services NSW, Victims Support Unit

CO32 NSW Bar Association

CO33 Legal Aid NSW

CO34 Western NSW Community Legal Centre and Western Women's Legal Support